Blackwell teachers recognized at end-of-year assembly

by Charles Gerian

Blackwell Public Schools held their End-Of-Year Awards Ceremony on the last day of school, May 15, 2024.

Blackwell Public Schools Superintendent Shawn Haskins honored several teachers and staff for their years of service.

Michaeleen Paige was recognized as the District Teacher of the Year. Paige teaches at Blackwell High School, and also received special recognition for 25 years of service.

BHS Principal Gerry Magic voiced his support for Paige:

"She is very dedicated to students, keeping Blackwell memories via a panorama of pictures and sees the best in what each student can accomplish."

Karen Hankins was recognized for Blackwell Public Schools Instructional Support Employee of the Year.

“Thank you Karen for your hard work and dedication to BPS,” said Haskins, “we are so lucky to have you.”

Support Staff of the Year went to Sally Delaney at Blackwell Middle School.

Stacy McLain was recognized for 35 Years of Service at Blackwell Elementary School.

Lori Meador, currently teaching at Blackwell High School, was recognized for 30 Years of Service.

Also recognized was Dale Sewell, a BES Custodian, for his 25 Years of Service along with Chris Childers and Craig Hall for their 20 Years of Service.

The ceremony was held in the Blackwell Elementary School cafeteria, instead of the Blackwell High School’s Study Center still undergoing extensive renovation.